Enlightenment Through Photography

Dancing Flowers

The spell of hot, dry and humid weather has broken this morning – as predicted by the forecasters – so we’ve had a dull, rainy day so far; looks like it should brighten up this afternoon though. It feels nice and fresh and everything has had a good drink, although I do wonder what will happen to the couple of local Wheatfields which haven’t, as yet, been harvested.

I looked back at my recent posts today and realised that I hadn’t posted many brightly-coloured photographs, so today I’ve chosen another shot of the Helenium – Moerheim Beauty. Come Winter, I’m going to warm my hands in front of this one :-)

24 responses

  1. colour-o-rama! nice shot of these fiery beauties… wow… wish I could grow these but I know they need full sun – right?

    August 4, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    • Thank you Sheila! Sunglasses are needed to look at this image I think! I wish I could grow them too but – yes – they need lots of sun and also plenty of moisture, so a difficult combination to maintain. I’ve read that they will wilt badly if they become too dry.

      August 4, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  2. I never looked at my heleniums close-up; mine won’t be blooming until late August-September. I am blown away by the great details: the scalloped petals which is repeated in the stamen. A very colorful, clear, crisp photo–well done.

    August 4, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    • Thank you very much! It was a real joy to capture a few shots of these beauties. They are dressed to thrill!

      August 4, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  3. Nice sharp focus and color :)

    August 4, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    • Thank you Eden! I think they’re the brightest flowers I’ve photographed.

      August 4, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  4. Lu

    Hot-dang! What a wonderful, bright photograph – radiating warmth all around :)

    August 4, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    • :-) Thanks Lu! Yes – the photo will be very useful in the depths of Winter. I’m going to print off a few and pin them up!

      August 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  5. What a beauty, the colours are dazzling! Glad you are getting a break from the heat and humidity.

    August 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • Thank you! It certainly does dazzle! Well, the weather people said it would be less humid today, but it has built up again this afternoon. Might need a storm to clear it possibly.

      August 4, 2011 at 5:42 pm

  6. Wow ! :-D

    August 4, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    • Thanks Hallysann :-) It’s a bit on the bright side isn’t it? Sort of strangely energising!

      August 4, 2011 at 5:44 pm

  7. nexi

    Stunning shots – and enjoyed browsing your My Thoughts blog as well.

    August 4, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    • Thank you very much – that’s very kind. I’m afraid my Thoughts blog is a little neglected at the moment – I seem, at present, to have found an outlet in my photographs instead! Many thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      August 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  8. sandy

    I am glad you posted it today. Those flowers make me want to dance!

    August 4, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    • Thank you Sandy. Yes – it seemed the right time to post this image, on a cloudy, rainy day! I was going to add a link to some tango-type music but couldn’t find anything I was 100% happy with. They really do make you want to dance don’t they? I think I’d rather like a lovely twirly red skirt so I can whirl around the house!

      August 4, 2011 at 10:28 pm

  9. They are beautiful!! Reminds me of a dervish dancer. (strange, huh) :)

    August 4, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    • Thank you Ted! I see what you mean! Yes, they certainly make you want to whirl around :-)

      August 4, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  10. So vivid and vivacious–yes, they are whirling away in a delightful dance. Thanks for sharing.

    August 4, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • Thanks Patti! They are certainly extroverts in the flower world!

      August 5, 2011 at 9:19 am

  11. Wow! Those are some seriously intense colours!

    August 4, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • Thanks Mike! The colours are really intense aren’t they? It was a bit of a shock when I first saw the photograph along with the automatic background colour when I posted!

      August 5, 2011 at 9:22 am

  12. All I can say is that I agree with everyone else- WOW :-)

    August 5, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    • Thank you Carola :-) They are very bright!

      August 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

