Vivid-pink Hawthorn

Pink_Hawthorn4-201104

I saw this stunning vivid-pink Hawthorn today situated within a rather drab Leisure Centre car park. The beautiful bright colour made it jump out from its surroundings. It’s a hybrid Hawthorn – Crataegus Laevigata or Midland Hawthorn. I’m not sure of the exact variety as there are a few pinks. I was completely amazed by the colour – such a deep pink – and the flowers are so different to the ‘wild’ Hawthorn – much more ‘showy’.

I’ve been told that there are some wild pink Hawthorns not too far away, so I’m going to have a look for them in the next day or two. I will be interested in the contrast.

2 thoughts on “Vivid-pink Hawthorn

    • Thanks Hallysann. I couldn’t believe the colour of this which stood out even more because of where it was – sort of stuffed in a corner of a leisure centre car park!

      Like

Leave a Reply

