Spring Tints and Angles

This is an Elder – Sambucus ‘Black Lace’ – taken from an unusual angle (I’m becoming more adventurous!!). I’d previousy taken lots of shots of the leaves and flower buds, but couldn’t quite capture the delicate beauty of the finely cut leaves.

I’m not really sure how I managed to get into a position to take this, but I’m pleased with the way the full sun captures the golden-red tones of the leaves. They look dark purple-red in ‘normal’ light. I also like the structure of the plant – it’s very angular – and the green ‘fingers’ which ‘hold’ the purple-red flower buds remind me of the ‘claws’ on a solitaire ring holding the precious jewel in place. (I think I’m becoming a bit Romantic about my shots – probably a result of studying Romanticism at present!).

4 thoughts on “Spring Tints and Angles

    • Thank you very much for your wonderful comments ladyfi. It was a bit of a departure from my ‘usual’ shots, but I enjoyed being a bit more adventurous!

      Many thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

