Gentle Giant

Here is my Giant Scabious or Cephalaria gigantea. It’s one of my favourite plants and I’m always excited when the flowers open.

I love the sheer size of it – reaching around 7 or 8 feet tall, and I love its informal habit. It tends to flop a bit due to large flower heads on thin stems and it gets blown about a bit by the strong southerly winds we get here, so I usually have to tie-in some of the stems; this year, however, a hazel tree is offering a bit of free support. You need a fair bit of space to grow them as just one plant will tend to take over a bedding plot.

I photographed this yesterday early evening after a visit to Heale Gardens, where I photographed some pretty intense and strong-coloured flowers. The soft and gentle colour of this Giant Scabious provided a bit of light relief. I will, however, be posting some of the deep blues and purples intermittently over the next few days.

10 thoughts on “Gentle Giant

    • Thank you Chloe. I’m glad you like it – it’s one of my favourite flowers and I have one or two more photos of it lined up to post. Many thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

