Stonehenge Summer Solstice Sunrise

This is a photograph of the sunrise at Stonehenge this morning around 04.52am. I stood in one of a very few places where there was a good view of the sunrise without lots of heads in the way – just in front of the Heelstone. It had rained yesterday evening and through part of the night so I was very pleased that the clouds broke a little at the right time to allow a peak of pinky red to show through. It’s not a great photo but I’m pleased with it because I had a clear view, because the clouds broke, and because the Heelstone is a strong addition to the overall scene.

Stonehenge was packed as predicted – I don’t know the numbers yet. Wilts and Dorset buses even laid on transport for people from Salisbury rail station and back. I don’t think that’s happened before. We drove and parked in the allotted field which – despite my doubts – was ample big enough.

I feel a bit bleary-eyed but really quite content and peaceful. Despite the crowds, the noise and the masses of litter and general detritus, Stonehenge has that effect on me. It is a wonderful place to be.

I’ll be posting a few more photos of the morning throughout the day – during nap breaks 🙂

14 thoughts on “Stonehenge Summer Solstice Sunrise

  1. I was wondering if you were going to go there today! I was watching the crowds that had gathered on a Sky News snippet. I’ll be looking out for your follow-up photos – although it is far more picturesque without all the people in the way 😉 Enjoy your naps – at least today of all days you won’t feel as though you are wasting any daylight hours!

    Like

    • Thanks Lu. I feel completely dozy (not much change really!). I was fortunate to get a good spot for the sunrise; I’m small and usually get a bit boxed in. In fact a chap with a rather expensive looking camera complete with large tripod asked politely if he could use my spot as it was the best one. Of course – I obliged 🙂

      Like

  2. I looked at the photos backwards, this is my favorite, although I like the black and white. I see what you mean about crowds and noise.

    Like

    • Thank you Sandy! Yes – people tend to gather in the centre so it’s fairly ‘busy’, but you can walk outwards towards the field boundary and have a peaceful spot in order to simply be. It is a very special place, along with Woodhenge in that area.

      Like

  3. At 3.30am the view from the window at tea-break today was just showing the sky turning navy-blue. Its strange to think that in 6 months time at 3.30pm it will already be showin signs of getting dark again.
    Nicely caught sunrise 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Hallysann. Yep – the days will be getting shorter now until we reach mid-December. What makes it worse are the grey days we have in Dec, Jan and Feb. Some days it seems as if it’s night time all day.

      Like

  4. I think this years Stonehenge would have been a bit of a let down M .. I haven’t seen the news or anything yet so I might be wrong but it’s a strange old summer so far this year . I’m off down this way next week 🙂
    Lovely photo this . Timeless .

    Like

    • It really is a strange old summer, Poppy. Murky and dismal and drizzly one moment – then a bit of sunshine, strong winds and that horrid grump-inducing sticky feeling not too far away. It all makes me feel grumpy and grizzly 🙂

      Many thanks 🙂

      Like

  5. I knew you lived in the south of England but neve realized you were so close to Stonehenge. Have to say that I have never visited. I must it down on my to-do list now that I am back in the UK.

    Like

    • It’s a wonderful place to be. It’s undergoing a lot of change at present – a new visitor centre some distance away from the Stones is being created and a road which runs very close to the Stones (which allowed a rather breathtaking view of them) is being closed for good this Monday. These changes have been quite controversial.

      Like

Leave a Reply

