Sea Holly Bee-fest

I photographed this whilst at Heale Gardens, Wiltshire at the weekend. This plant – a particularly vivid blue species of Sea Holly or Eryngium was attracting lots and lots of bees. I think the species might be ‘x zabelli’. They are quite striking plants – the blue is almost unreal. If I had a sunny enough spot in the garden I would have a couple of these plants – the bees love it.

I’ve done a bit of research to try and identify this species of bee, which hasn’t been straightforward, and I think they are White-tailed queen bumbles, or Bombus lucorum. I stand to be corrected though.

20 thoughts on “Sea Holly Bee-fest

  1. Awww, lots of busy little bees ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the Sea Holly too – beautiful colour. Looks like it should belong to the thistle family ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. I love the detail in this picture- you take some really nice pictures ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for liking my blog, Between heaven and earth, I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work. Wishing you a great weekend !

    Like

    • Thank you very much Carola! Usually it’s quite difficult to photograph bees as they fly from flower to flower very quickly, but these were so attracted to this flower they didn’t move around very much! Many thanks for your kind comments, and I wish you a great weekend too!

      Like

    • Thank you very much Fergiemoto! There were so many bees on these flowers – it was unbelievable. The flowers seemed to quieten the bees down a little so it was easier to get a shot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

