Life on the tiles

A photograph of different types of lichen growing profusely on clay tiles which sit atop a low lime-washed wall in the village. I first photographed this lichen a few weeks ago on a cloudy but what I thought was a bright enough day and was pleased enough with the result to add it to my WordPress file for future possibles to post. I kept putting off posting though – sometimes I’m just not completely happy with a photograph and I’m not really sure why. Anyway, I went along and took some more shots a couple of days ago on a sunnier day and although the wall is partly shaded by trees, the dappled light really lifted the photograph and makes the previous ones look really dull in comparison.

There is a very long and deep learning curve with regard to photography: there is so much to learn. I met a professional photographer at a craft show a couple of months back and he said it took him about 7 years to feel like he was competent. If you regard photography as an art rather than a science, then perhaps one will never be satisfied with a shot. The 19th Century German Romantic aesthetes declared that a work of art should always be in the process of ‘becoming’ and should never be completed. There are long and complicated reasons why, but I think they had something there; in my case it’s sometimes hard to be completely satisfied with the result of photographs. There’s often some aspect which could have been better, but then that’s a great excuse to get out and practise a bit more πŸ™‚

Edit 17.00: I’ve had a suggestion from Calvin (see comments) that the shot would look improved without the green square (top left side). I thought it was a good idea and have inserted a slideshow containing both versions below for comparison.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 thoughts on “Life on the tiles

  1. Practice may make perfect – so long as you enjoy what you are doing along the way is what I say πŸ™‚ I can also be overly critical of some of my photos – and usually take many photos of the same subject (well, it’s something I have started doing only this year when I realised that relying on one single shot wasn’t doing it for me). At least one or two out of the pack “pop” out at me…just because. I can’t explain that either! Nice lichens by the way πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Thanks Lu for your thoughtful comments. I do enjoy taking photographs – a lot! There’s so much pleasure in really looking at things – taking proper notice of all the interesting things around us. I also take many photos of the same subject – from different angles and so on. I’ll then pick one to post and will then change my mind at the last minute! Nightmare πŸ™‚

      Like

        • Yes, it is interesting and revealing to photograph the same subject on different days; it’s fascinating seeing the effects different lighting has. There’s a lot to learn but it’s very enjoyable being out there with the camera! Many thanks for your comments.

          Like

  2. Very nice shot! love the colour of the clay against the neat green/yellow lichen.

    Being a photographer, for me, is an ever evolving process. I feel I am still learning and growing and I’ve been doing it for many moons. And I have finally learned to be happy with many of my images (still very critical but not sure that will all ever go away) …of course with digital and all the new equipment and techniques one is always learning new things – keeps it interesting.

    Your images are excellent and thoughtful Meanderer – you are well on your way.

    Like

    • Thanks very much for your very kind and encouraging comments Sheila; your thoughts on photography are very much appreciated. Your work to me is absolutely amazing and inspiring, so it’s interesting to hear that you haven’t always been happy with your images. I guess it’s that inner critic which drives and which helps the work to evolve and stay fresh. I find I’m becoming a lot more critical as I go along – it’s sometimes the frustration of knowing what I would like the result to be, but not yet knowing enough of how to get there! As you said before: ‘Creative types’! Many thanks once again.

      Like

  3. Fabulous shot in terms of the colours, textures and composition.

    I would be tempted to crop about half an inch off the top to get rid of the green square in the top left hand corner.

    Like

    • Thanks very much Calvin – and thanks for your suggestion regarding that green square too. I wondered whether to crop it or keep the depth of tiles and decided to keep the depth, but I think you’re right: the green is a bit of a distraction. I’ll see how it looks. Many thanks – suggestions and input always welcome.

      Like

  4. Agree with Calvin re the very slightly distracting green square. If you wanted to keep the depth (which I think works very well), you could always just clone out the green square rather than cropping it.

    Nice image – love the colours and DOF.

    Like

    • Thanks very much for your comments Mike. This afternoon someone had done what you’ve suggested and cloned out the square to see what I’d think – it looked really good! I was too late to ask him to save it so I could add it to the slideshow – it’s been deleted. I may have to invest in some ‘tools’ and experiment myself. Many thanks for the suggestions which are always welcome.

      Like

  5. Great shot–and thanks for sharing. I too take photos, but not as frequently or with the best equipment these days. I do know that I am never totally satisifed with the images–but they capture the moment and that works. Always more photos to take, more details to find fascinating.

    Like

    • Thanks very much for stopping by and commenting Patti. Yes – capturing the moment is important. I’ve been taking photographs more or less daily since March and looking back at them has been fascinating, helping to jog memories of things done and places visited. As you say – there are always more details to find fascinating which is why I love close-ups so much! Thanks again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

