Sheltering

I photographed this hoverfly yesterday afternoon in-between heavy rain showers.

The sky had been grey most of the day, I was feeling a bit under the weather, and also suffering withdrawal symptoms from being away from open fields for a few days ๐Ÿ™‚

I know that picking up the camera and going outside generally makes me feel better, so I thought I’d try and find some inspiration around the garden. I stepped outside into the drizzle, and there he (she) was sheltering from the rain. His wings, which were folded back along his body, resembled a rather iridescent raincape (I’d like one)!

Anyway, I felt much more cheerful after seeing him!

20 thoughts on “Sheltering

    • Thank you Sheila! We had a very dry Spring – the driest in many decades and everything was parched. Drought warnings were introduced but soon after we got rain! Hopefully you will get some soon to cool things and refresh things a bit.

      Like

  1. I love the details of this little fly. I hope that you’re feeling better, nature is a great healer even though I know just how cold UK can get when it rains…your humidity can bring down the best of spirits ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Thank you Carola. Yes – generally feeling better today thank you! The sun came out and I visited one of my favourite places which was full of lots of vibrant-coloured plants along with butterflies, bees and hoverflies. I know what you mean about the humidity in the UK – it can be very uncomfortable.

      Like

    • Thank you Patti! I spotted him more or less straight away as soon as I stepped outside. Although very small, the colours on his body and wings really stood out. I don’t think I’ve seen one with wings folded like that – they’re normally far too busy!

      Like

    • Thank you Calvin! It was great seeing him (her) just sitting there, covered by his beautiful wings, waiting for the rain to stop! Reminds me of myself one year at the Glastonbury festival during torrential rain sitting on a bench covered with a large plastic poncho, waiting for the rain to stop…….

      Like

Leave a Reply

