Resilience

This is a photograph of a Speckled Wood butterfly (Pararge aegeria). I’d gone for a walk around the garden this morning and inadvertently disturbed it on my way back to the house. It flew around me before returning to its resting place. On closer inspection I noticed its badly damaged wing. I’m not sure how it would get an injury like this but it made me think about the perilous life these beautiful creatures have. I’m pleased it can still fly – although how far and for how long, I don’t know. I’ve checked a few times and it is still in the same place.

It was strange, also, because only a couple of weeks after I was given my camera (early April) I saw the same species of butterfly sitting on the same plant and I managed then to take some close-up photographs of it. I had a romantic idea today that it was the same butterfly returning to this placeย  – which isn’t very likely. Anyway, I compared the markings just to be sure and they are slightly different.

There’s a different feel to the air today; definitely a hint of something Autumnal. It’s sunny, but cooler, and the strong breeze is blowing seeds and other bits around from trees and other plants. There are lots of very small seeds lying around everywhere. I like these changes in the weather and the transition between seasons – they bring with them a freshness that somehow revitalises.

22 thoughts on “Resilience

  1. I don’t have any “romantic thoughts” about the changes in the weather today, just the down to earth fingers crossed type of thoughts about the strong breezes keeping the clouds away from my towels drying on the washing line.:-)
    Great close-up … again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you Hallysann ๐Ÿ™‚ Mmm – there’s a message in there somewhere. Maybe if I were more down to earth and less ‘romantic’ (idealistic), I wouldn’t have gone through life catching cold through wearing damp clothes. Or something like that ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • DON’T STOP ROMANTICISING !
        We need the people living with the sun above the clouds to cheer us up when the rain falls on us down to earth. ๐Ÿ™‚
        P.s. the towels dried a treat.

        Like

        • OKAY ๐Ÿ˜€ Although it would be interesting to have feet firmly on the ground now and then ….. ! I’m pleased your towels dried – it’s certainly been very breezy today. I nearly lost my hat ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  2. Beautiful details, Meanderer! It is hard for me to imagine that you have only had your camera since April!! You have a great ‘eye’ to see as the camera sees. Keep up the great work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you very much for your very kind comments Ted. The camera has been a wonderful ‘companion’ since Spring. It’s like having one’s eyes opened properly and seeing things with more clarity for the first time.

      Like

    • Thanks Mike; it’s good to know they cope well when their wings are so damaged. I was relieved that this butterfly was able to fly considering the damage to its forewing.

      Like

  3. Great shot–thanks for sharing your views–literal and figurative. I too like the change of seasons, and I love when I start noting the little changes that start to happen before the real change overwhelms us. Also good to hear the damaged wings are not keeping the butterflies land-bound.

    Like

    • Thank you Patti. Yes – it’s those small subtle changes isn’t it? I always notice them – sometimes just the vaguest breath of air signals the change. I agree – it is wonderful and amazing that the butterflies can recover after so much damage to wings.

      Like

    • Thank you Sheila! It was a great relief to see him flying – coping with all that damage. Very resilient! Mmm – there sure are small signs of Autumn: a change in light levels (softer, kinder light); the feel of the breeze; lots of plant material flying around and covering the ground ……….

      Like

    • Thank you. Yes – I’ve seen a few with quite ‘tattered’ wings but I hadn’t seen one with this much damage – and still flying. Good news: I saw it again yesterday, flying around before settling and basking in the sun! I’ve posted an update today.

      Like

    • I felt quite choked when I saw it with its damaged wing but knowing it was around and about flying without a problem was a wonderful thing. They do go through a lot in their short lives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

