Three Baby Blackbirds Basking

I was really fortunate to see this group of young blackbirds yesterday as I peered out of an upstairs window. I was relieved that the image came out reasonably well as I had to be quick – the bird on the left saw me and flew off a couple of seconds after I took this – and I also couldn’t risk opening the window so I had to shoot through the glass. I was also really pleased that the image came out reasonably well as up until now all attempts at photographing birds has resulted in blurry splodges.

The thing I like about this photo is that it captures the birds in what I can only describe as sunbathing. I’ve watched this phenomenon over the last couple of years whereby blackbirds sit either on a branch or on a low hedge a few feet from the kitchen window and will spread out their wings in the sun – completely unperturbed. Often they will sit like this for many minutes. Most times blackbirds, like most birds (urban pigeons excepted) behave cautiously and are usually on the look-out for potential danger, so to see them engaged in what seems to be relaxed behaviour – their equivalent of ‘chill-out time’ – is quite extraordinary and is always such a delight to see.

16 thoughts on “Three Baby Blackbirds Basking

    • Thanks Hallysann! Well, I was a bit worried as there are rainspots on the window, but for some reason they didn’t come out on the photo πŸ™‚ The next photo I took though has a reflection of my jumper in it!

      Like

  1. An excelletn shot, Meanderer! I’ve seen vultures exhibit this same behavior, usually early in the morning when it is cool. The vultures seem to be warming themselves at first light. I can’t say I’ve ever seen it in any other bird, until now. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you Ted! Interesting. There are all sorts of theories as to why they do it but no one seems to know for sure. It’s good that birds retain some of their mystery πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Lovely shot Meanderer – Cormorants also do this “sunbathing” thing πŸ™‚ – but it has more to do with drying off their plumage!

    Like

    • Thank you Lu! Ah – that’s interesting. Well, I wondered whether that’s what the blackbirds are doing. I’ve been wracking my brain trying to think of the weather conditions leading up to this behaviour each time I’ve seen it. I don’t know. They just seem to really enjoying sitting quietly lapping up the sun πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

