Changing Seasons

I was lucky enough to photograph this ploughing scene a couple of days ago. I’d never seen a field being ploughed in close-up before – the tractor driver was very tolerant of someone getting in the way in order to photograph his work. This scene is a reminder of how quickly the year goes by and how soon each Season changes to the next. It doesn’t seem that long ago that I was photographing young Barley and marvelling at its glorious red and green colour. Now it’s all gone – harvested and stored and the stubble here is being ploughed in ready for the next crop.

According to the Met Office here in the UK, today is the last day of Summer; Autumn begins tomorrow. Personally, though, I feel Autumn started a couple of weeks ago – earlier than I felt last year’s Autumn begin.

Apparently – according to the Met Office – we’ve had the coolest Summer in the UK since the early 1990s. For me, it’s also been the greyest. I looked back at my images for August and the predominant colours seem to be greys and dark blues; there hasn’t been that much sunshine.

I’m not complaining though; we had our Summer in Spring this year. From the end of March to the beginning of Festival Season in June, we had warm, dry and sunny weather – at least in the South of England anyway. I have felt for a few years that the Seasons are shifting: Spring plants are surfacing in the Winter; hot and dry weather is occuring in the Spring; and wet, dull and windy weather is occuring is Summer. Something strange is happening in Winter too. We’d had many years of mild winters but the last three have been very harsh indeed with prolonged sub-zero temperatures and snow.

Looking around at trees and shrubs at the moment, many are heavil-laden with berries – a sign of a harsh Winter to come. I wondered how plants know there will be a harsh Winter, and Midge suggested that maybe plants have a type of memory where they recall the conditions leading up to certain conditions in the previous year and provide as needed. We’ll see. If this Winter is another harsh one then Midge’s theory could be judged to be correct.

16 thoughts on “Changing Seasons

  1. Great capture of the tractor plowing the field. It is definitely a sign of fall and harvest. I love driving past the farm fields and seeing the farmers gathering their crops. The crops in Minnesot have done well this year unlike other parts of the US.

    When you mentioned the bushes with many berries I was reminded of my neighbor’s blackberries. I’ve never seen so many. I hope that it is not a sign of a harsh winter to come. Our past winters in recent years have been longer, colder and more snow than we have had years ago.

    Like

    • Thank you Jeanne. Your winters sound the same as ours. When I was growing up and when my children were small, we had very cold Winters: snow sometimes, but usually freezing temps and frosts and so on. Then we had many years of really mild Winters – probably between the late 80s and mid 2000s. You could hardly differentiate Winter from Autumn. The last three Winters have resorted back to the ‘traditional’ English Winters but with quite a severity and longevity about them. With the large amount of berries around – and so early – this year, it will be interesting to see what happens this Winter.

      Like

    • Thanks Hallysann. I’m pleased you like the earth in the foreground. At first I thought maybe it was a bit too dominant but decided to keep it as I took it because – like you say – it gives the feel of the plough and is so fresh.

      Like

    • Thank you Brandon; there was something really satisfying about standing and watching the earth being turned over and seeing and smelling the wonderful freshness.

      The temps you had were amazingly – and dangerously – high weren’t they? We had a couple of hot and humid days in Spring but that was it. It was the greyness of August though that was a bit of a downer!

      Like

  2. Nice. This photo brings back memories. I grew up on a crop farm and seeing the fields being plowed was a regular occurrence. I even rode the tractor occasionally! Since this was many years ago, the equipment here is much more sophisticated than what we had. Also, our tractor didn’t have a cab. I remember birds would flock around the tractor and the freshly turned ground to get their fill of earthworms. I wish I had photos – I only have mental images. Anyway, thanks for letting me reminisce.

    Like

    • Thanks Fergiemoto – I’m pleased that it has stirred good memories for you. How wonderful to have grown up on a crop farm – and you got to ride the tractor! That’s something I would like to do! A couple of the shots I took showed birds flocking around the tractor but the images weren’t so clear as this one. The farm machinery I’ve seen this year whilst taking photos of crop fields has surprised me; I had an image of a combine in my head which didn’t bear much of a resemblance to the sleek, high-tech combines used today.

      Like

    • Thank you Calvin! I hope to oblige with more images of the English countryside as the seasons progress. There are so many changes and interesting patterns and views. Can’t wait for a misty morning in some respects!

      Like

Leave a Reply

