Driftin’

I took this photograph a couple of days ago – on the last official day of Summer. The swan followed me as I walked along the bank stopping here and there to take photographs. At this point though, it overtook me and drifted on by into the sun-soaked lushness.Β  They are such elegant, graceful creatures – their travel seemingly effortless.

I love to be by the water – I seem to be most relaxed and at home when by a river, stream, lake or the sea; worries seem to drift on by and melt away.

Bliss.

37 thoughts on “Driftin’

  1. I LOVE this one! It’s so beautiful and peaceful…and the swan is priceless! I find myself visiting your blog often to see what you have posted. Is there a subscribe button, or am I just not seeing it?

    Like

    • Thanks so much Fergiemoto. It was wonderful having the swan as companion whilst walking along! I don’t have a subscribe button – this theme only allows 3 widgets and I’ve used them up! An alternative way is to tick the box under the comments box when making a comment or to click ‘Follow’ on the tab at the top of the page when logged in – which is what I tend to do now. Many thanks once again.

      Like

    • Thanks very much wandering siren! It is quite a romantic-looking shot isn’t it?! The conditions that day were perfect for this shot – so sunny and calm. Many thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

    • Thank you Patti! It was sure nice to have a warm and sunny day to see the summer out after such a grey month. The first couple of days of Autumn, however, have been gorgeous – we’ve had high temperatures and lots of sun although it’s not due to continue!

      Like

    • Thank you Hallysann! The last couple of days have been lovely and warm haven’t they? All change now though! I don’t mind the cold so much as the greyness especially when the days are so short.

      Like

  2. Meanderer, this is breathtakingly beautiful ! I can feel myself being transported to a peaceful and tranquil place just by looking at this image. As you know I love water too, it’s a great healer and stirrer, helping us connect to our emotions and feelings πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I wish I could send you some of the rain we’ve been having with the resultant lush foliage. I’ve read about the terribly dry Summer you’ve had and the devastating fires. We had a very dry and warm Spring – the driest for many years – this year followed by a grey wet Summer – the greyest for many years – which has continued into this Autumn. The weather seems to be all over the place at the moment.

      Like

    • πŸ˜€ Thank you very much! It was one of those images that sort of happened. I’d been driftin’ in town that day myself – lost in thought, looking at the river – when suddenly, this wonderful swan appeared ………

      Like

Leave a Reply

