Waves and Ripples

I’ve been away for a few days to the glorious Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, UK, taking in Swanage and the Folk Festival, Durlston Head and Corfe Castle amongst other interesting places.

This is a photograph of the gentle rippling sea at Swanage beach – one of my favourite English seaside places. The colours featured are my favourite combinations: blues, browns and white. Swanage has a very clean beach and unpolluted water and is a Blue Flag beach – awarded for its cleanliness.

I love to be near the sea for many reasons although I don’t manage to get there as often as I would like. In an interesting way, though, the recent discovery of cereal crop fields in close-up has provided a land-based alternative. Both places feature movement, soothing sounds, open vistas and blue and brown colours with white.

I’ll be featuring images with a distinct seaside flavour over the next few days but with a bit of architecture and Morris dancing thrown in!

20 thoughts on “Waves and Ripples

  1. Simple, yet beautiful. Clear and crisp. Just this lovely shot has activated the senses – I can smell the ocean, feel the cool breeze, feel the soft wet sand, feel the water wrap around my feet, hear the waves gently roll in ….. etc., etc. Nice!

    Like

    • Thank you Fergiemoto – I’m really pleased that this image has had a positive effect; the gentleness of the soft rippling waves at this particular spot is really soothing. I’d actually like a seaside-themed room with added lighthouse and sound effects 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks! I took a few different images of the sea on this particular day. It looked so pretty with the blues, browns and white. I might pop another one on the blog before the warm Summery-type days drift away!

      Like

Leave a Reply

