Looking Out

Here is a photograph of Anvil Point Lighthouse situated on the Dorset Coast near Swanage, Dorset UK. I took a few photographs of the Lighthouse from various positions including up close just outside the gates. This one was taken in the late afternoon from a seat which looked down onto the Lighthouse. The light was nice and soft but it was extremely windy and I had a real job trying to hold the camera steady. I just had to try and get a couple of shots including the little yacht which was navigating its way past the rocks in a very strong wind.

I converted the image to B&W as it ‘ties’ the Lighthouse and its buildings to the yacht in a stronger way. The soft silver-blue sea and greenery surrounding the Lighthouse took some of the attention away from the yacht.

I have what might be called a Lighthouse Obsession. I LOVE lighthouses – have done for many, many years. I have lots of Lighthouse bits and bobs at home including: calendars; cards; postcards; wooden models; hand-made metal sculptures; ceramic models; paintings; pottery models and so on. Now I have my camera, I hope to have a grand collection of photographs of Lighthouses from around the country too! They are such wonderful, iconic buildings.

22 thoughts on “Looking Out

    • Thank you! Yes, I know what you mean about utility lines – they often ruin a decent image. It was helpful that the lines in this one run from left to right in the corner of the image! Not so obtrusive.

      Like

    • Thanks very much David! I’m pleased that mood comes over; the yacht was moving along fairly swiftly on that stiff breeze! The sea for the most part was clear of any boats. A ferry went across earlier in the day but this was the only small craft I saw, so I was lucky to capture it near the Lighthouse!

      Like

    • Thanks very much Brandon! I’m pleased you like the stacks – I like the chimney stacks too – with their imposing quality – and their relationship with the bright Lantern Room. It’s quite a photogenic combination of buildings.

      Like

    • Thank you Sandy. Yes – there’s quite a variety of types of lighthouse in the British Isles; some are the archetypal tall ones on a rock out to sea and others are squat types on cliffs with attached cottages like this one.

      Like

    • Thank you very much cocomino. I love lighthouses and although this one is a short one I really like it too. The attached cottages can be hired out for holidays – something I’d really like to do although it is a bit expensive. Many thanks for your visit and comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

