Boundary

I sometimes walk past these iron railings when on my way to photograph other things: wildflowers and a nearby river, always meaning to come back and photograph them another time. Whilst walking past a couple of days ago, I stopped and took a couple of photographs.

They form part of a rather long boundary – sweeping in gentle curves in some places. I’m a great fan of rather less formal boundaries – old, characterful rustic wooden fences and gates, rusting iron gates encrusted with lichen, old crumbly walls, soft planting and so on, but there’s also something about a very formal, well-maintained, boundary that I like particularly in the right context.

I was thinking about the work involved with keeping it looking so neat and tidy; the iron looked as if it was regularly painted – the spikes are gold in colour – and the beech hedge on the inside of it must need regular trimming in order to stop it poking through the railings. There is, however, a leaf poking though to the left of the image which the gardener has probably attended toΒ  by now!

16 thoughts on “Boundary

    • Thanks so much EP! I’m glad I finally got around to photographing it! It’s a very long boundary but has obstacles such as telegraph poles along it too so I tried to choose the longest stretch without anything in the way πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

