Cedars


I took this photograph whilst at Kingston Lacy House and Gardens at the weekend. It was early morning and we’d just arrived and one of the first striking views was of these beautiful Cedar trees – part of an ‘avenue’ of them. The combination of dew-laden grass and the heat of the low morning sun created an atmospheric misty view.

I was going to convert this to a B&W but decided not to as I like the glimpse of the misty greens in the bottom third of the image and the hint of blue in the sky.

I love Cedar trees – they are one of my favourite species of tree. I find the shapes really appealing.

20 thoughts on “Cedars

    • Thank you FM! Leaving the hint of greens and blues seemed to work much better than a total B&W – it showed off the mist better. I do love these trees – wish I had taken more shots as you don’t see them that often here.

      Like

    • πŸ˜€ Thanks Hallysann. It was such a lovely morning and the trees looked so lovely. (Whilst I took this photograph, my feet were getting completely soaked by the dew-laden grass. A result of poorly-chosen footwear πŸ™‚ ).

      Like

  1. You can tell I am getting old because I thought you had converted it to B&W. πŸ™‚

    A striking image.

    I share your love of cedar trees and sadly do not get to see them in my part of the United States. Perhaps I am looking in the wrong places.

    Like

    • πŸ™‚ Many thanks Calvin. It’s so nearly a B&W isn’t it?! I like that effect – I might experiment more with it.

      I don’t get to see that many Cedars locally either – I tend to see them in Country House grounds. Before I visited Kingston Lacy at the weekend, I think the last time I saw Cedars like these was in the grounds at Fonthill, Wilts a few months back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

