Dahlia Plus

I originally had a soft pastel-coloured abstract lined up for today but swapped for something a little more vibrant as I felt in need of something bright! (Although temps are holding up fairly well in England, the skies are predominantly grey at the moment).

This is a photograph of an Autumnal-coloured dahlia that I saw whilst at Heale Gardens, Wiltshire a couple of weeks ago.

I never used to be a fan of dahlias – I think because I didn’t like the ‘pom-pom’ variety – but some of the newer types with their vibrant colours lasting late into Autumn are rather wonderful.

I don’t know what this little guy is – I’m not sure if he’s a hoverfly as there’s not enough body detail. He entered the shot at the last second and then flew off again. IDs are welcome!

28 thoughts on “Dahlia Plus

Leave a Reply

