Winter Brights (I)

As Midwinter approaches I’ve decided to try and find as many bright colours in Nature as I can, and have therefore launched a mini-series of ‘Winter Brights’ to post now and again through the rest of December and January. There might not be that many but I’ll give it a go.

This is a photograph I took in the garden this week of a sprig of Cotoneaster. This single branch has somehow rooted itself under paving but it is the brightest coloured plant in the garden at present. The leaves are quite tiny and very glossy and they have turned lovely colours of reds, pinks and oranges.

30 thoughts on “Winter Brights (I)

  1. Gorgeous–and what a great challenge. We all need to look for the bright and beautiful, even as things around us are more generally gray and cold. Thanks for the photo and the reminder.

    Like

    • Thank you Dave. I’m pleased you found the image cheering. I certainly needed a bit of brightness! I think it’s going to be a little hard to find colour but I have a few ideas!

      Like

  2. Love it !
    I have one of these in a pot in the garden, for years I called it a Cotton Easter plant I guessed it was named that after it’s cottonish white flowers in spring. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Good luck with the challenge! We’re covered in snow up here in Edinburgh… although I suspect it’ll be nothing but icy slush soon enough. I think the only bright things I’ll see out and about will be Christmas Lights πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you Lu! It might be a hard job and the posts may be few and far between but I’ll see what I can do πŸ™‚ Yes: you’re having it pretty bad up there weatherwise aren’t you? Snow, storm force winds, greyness. Snow is forecast for the South soon too – and storms this week!

      Like

    • Thank you Sheila! Yes – I have a few ideas of the types of plants which have good Winter colour so it’s a matter of seeking them out. It will be a fun challenge I think πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

