‘Okay: We’ve chewed it over ……..

………. you can walk through our field; just bring something to eat next time’. πŸ™‚

I photographed these beautiful sheep yesterday whilst visiting a Nature Reserve I’d never been to before. They ran into this field and right up to us when they heard the opening and closing of gates, which took us by surprise as usually sheep run away!

They are Hebridean Sheep – a very hardy (and once endangered) breed – and are apparently often used for conservation and eco-management purposes as they eat plants other sheep breeds won’t or can’t.

I was so pleased that I saw these wonderful animals yesterday; they really have something of a ‘character’ about them. If I had land I would certainly include some of these.

More information on their history and current use as an ‘eco-tool’ can be found at hebrideansheep.org.uk

26 thoughts on “‘Okay: We’ve chewed it over ……..

    • They do seem pretty friendly. This Nature Reserve has sheep checkers. I wonder if they need another one πŸ™‚

      Yes – there was a lone white sheep; the name of the breed escapes me at the moment. I’ll find it.

      Like

    • Ah, funny you should mention that Judy as I thought the very same thing but, so far, have been thwarted in my search for some. There is a business located in Scotland which uses the wool to make various clothing and household apparel and one can purchase ready made goods but as a knitter I would like to make my own garments. I continue the search and will let you know πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. I have never seen this breed.
    For many years, we visited the local sheep fair here in Maine. My husband and I enjoyed seeing the sheep, the dogs, the wool, and even a fashion show.

    When we are out driving, I always keep an eye out for a flock of sheep. How commom are sheep farms there?

    I love the curiousity in the sheep’s faces in this shot. Lucky you, getting to see them.

    Like

    • Many thanks Sandy. Sheep farms are pretty common here. You don’t have to drive too far in the countryside before encountering sheep on hills and in fields. You don’t see many sheep of this breed though and it’s interesting how they are being used.

      It’s the look on the sheep’s faces in this image which makes me smile. I can’t wait to go back and see them again – they are real characters!

      Like

  2. Great title! Fantastic that the breed is being preserved, as we’ll be needing the stamina of animals such as this in times coming. Imagine how cute a lamb of this breed would be πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks very much Dreams and Zeros! Yes – the shot was a little soft due to the overcast day and worked much better in B&W. They certainly have very characterful faces don’t they?!

      Like

  3. Oh wow, how cool! We have lots of them here, but rarely do I see them from near as they like to roam around on to the mountains above. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

