Frozen

The last day of January and Winter appears to have arrived in England. We had a dip in temperatures yesterday accompanied by a few flurries of snow – which didn’t settle – and today it is really cold: freezing temps and a chill wind to go with it.

The little Spring flowers which had recently emerged due to the mild weather look a little shocked this morning. The garden birds had recently been singing loudly and hopping about merrily due to the seemingly early arrival of Spring now sound a little subdued.

A few more Winter woollies are going to have to be gathered up and strewn around my shivering extremities that’s for sure.

56 thoughts on “Frozen

  1. We at last got some real snow ourselves today, not much, more a sprinkling really, but so welcome (I love the snow!). Astonishing shot this Meanderer, the amount of detail you got there is quite breathtaking, it really creates this crisp vibrancy to the shot which I’m quite enamoured with.

    Like

    • I know it’s really cold but this spot of proper Winter weather is welcome isn’t it CV? There might be a possiblility of snow for us in our part of Europe. It would be fun. Many thanks for your kind comments.

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on FATman Photos and commented:
    Here’s another photographer I recommend to you – Meanderer. Look at this beautiful picture of an ice encrusted leaf – each ice crystal could be a small diamond – we could be looking at crystals inside a geode! And I think that the sheer blackness, in what I imagine to be a hole in the leaf, sets the rest of the image off wonderfully. FATman

    Like

  3. Beautiful capture.

    Winter draws on, as Spike Milligan used to say.

    Wrap up warm and keep safe. I won’t tell you the temperature in Florida today. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks very much Calvin. No frost today but a biting bitterly cold wind accompanied by a beautiful blue sky and sunshine. No – best I don’t know about the temperatures in Florida πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Yes we are having spring like temperatures here too. I think mother nature is brewing up colder weather for us soon though!
    I really like this capture of the frost. Your close-ups are always intriguing!!!

    Like

    • We usually get our weather from the Atlantic – mild westerlies – but this cold front is coming in from Russia and Scandinavia. The warm and cold fronts are abutting over the UK at present so the next few days could be interesting πŸ™‚ Many thanks David.

      Like

  5. Great minds think alike! I took some photos a bit like this recently (they are on my Flickr stream). I love these miniature worlds that can appear. Your camera is probably better at macro than mine though!

    Like

    • I’ve just had a look at your flickr page and found your beautiful frost images. I like the lichen one. We do have overlapping photographic interests don’t we?! I noticed you had some lovely snowdrop images from Kew. I plan to visit a Stately home and gardens at the weekend in order to photograph some snowdrops en-masse. We have some in the garden but the shade makes photographing them quite a challenge!

      Like

    • Many thanks Diana. One wonders what the weather will be like Sunday morning for the visit!

      I will shortly return to your flickr site to have a look at more of your wonderful images.

      Like

Leave a Reply

