Sunset and Railway Tracks

This photograph makes me feel nostalgic – it was taken late last Autumn whilst standing on a favourite Victorian brick-built railway bridge. The bridge was knocked down this year and replaced with a steel monstrosity (not showing too much emotion there am I? πŸ˜‰ ).

Feeling grumpy and sad this evening due to an adjoining allotment holder’s over-use of herbicides infringing on my plot. Feeling like giving it all up. I mean – what’s the point in trying to do the whole ‘organic’ thing when a couple of feet away someone is spraying chemicals all over the place. I mean: “what’s the point?” (too much emotion again 😦 ). Tis all my fault for being a dreamer; an idealist: bleh.

40 thoughts on “Sunset and Railway Tracks

  1. I’m sorry that you have the blues. We also have some neighbor/garden/landscape issues. I fantacize about building 8-foot walls around my house. But then I come to my senses and realize that if I did so, I would block out every bit of light:)

    Like

    • Many thanks for your support, V. I’m sure I’ll see it in perspective tomorrow but I do feel weary – and in the mood to give it up – right now. Yes – eight feet walls sound good – but as you say – it would defeat the object! Apparently wholly organic allotments are a very rare thing here in the UK. I read that there is such a place in Scotland …….

      Like

      • I think the best we can do is have a good laugh at the absurdity of it all. Recently I saw a blog post, wish I could remember where–I’d send you a link, about people in various countries being fined for converting their yards into gardens. Yes, punished for growing their own food! It defies all common sense!

        Like

        • That seems a bit harsh – and very silly. Over here in the UK, people are critisized for turning their gardens into concrete car parks which is contributing to the flooding problems we have in towns – so converting yards into gardens seems like a win-win all round (IMHO πŸ™‚ ).

          Like

    • That’s very kind of you Sandy – and high praise indeed. I guess with photography, one has control over what one sees and chooses to depict! It might be the better hobby for me πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Lovely, memorable image, Meanderer (take me to infinity)! But so sorry to hear about your inconsiderate neighbor. I suppose a few large fans, all pointed in his direction are not an option…?

    Like

  3. Try the educative response. The other person simply may not realise there are other options than using chemicals – after all, the multi-nationals have a very effective campaign! Find out which chemicals are being used, and suggest alternatives. Lots of work I know, but worth a try…… I really do sympathise, it’s tough out there, but hang in there, it is worth it.β™₯

    Like

    • I haven’t actually met the plot-owner as yet – so I haven’t been able to ask them what they are using. The problem is: they don’t keep their chemicals to themselves – they have sprayed their whole perimeter – including joint pathways, infringing not only on my plot but on others’ too.

      I do feel a little more pragmatic this morning rather than emotional and will wait until the allotment members’ meeting in October. I’ll bring it up there if I don’t see the plot-holder before.

      Many thanks, Eremophila.

      Like

  4. Nice sunset shot M, I like the way the train lines don’t disappear round a bend, just into the darkness.

    Sorry to hear you’re feeling in such a low mood at the moment. I’m presently catching up on some old programmes of the US TV series “Dexter” so I could suggest that route for your neighbour but that might be a bit over the top. Like eremophila advised, talking to them is probably how best to tackle this initially πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Many thanks, Steve. Yes – it would probably settle me a bit more if I actually met them and was able to bring the subject up – gently! There is a meeting next month so hopefully worries can be aired there. I’ve never seen “Dexter” but from your description, it sounds like the remedy could be a bit extreme?!!

      Like

  5. I like how the tracks lead your eyes right into the sunset. Lovely photo!
    It’s frustrating to have someone else’s decisions affect your plot. In my own yard and garden, I avoid chemicals on the plants. I like organic instead.

    Like

  6. Nice image, M, I like it a lot! And absolutely nothing wrong with being a dreamer or showing emotion – do it, woman, DO IT AND STAY RIGHT THERE WITH IT!!! >>> but at the same time accept it as a fact of life that many others are rather less imaginative, they have poorer life quality in my view >>> but then maybe things that don’t get to me turn them on.

    Not sure about the organic thing. A recent study failed to find significant benefits in organic food, and while I like to stuff down grub I don’t look too closely at where its come from – and I could certainly never find the time to run an allotment! Its a question of life priorities I guess, and personally I’m getting more laid back than ever about many, many things – I mean, since I’m getting older, with fewer years ahead, what on earth is the point of wasting attention and emotion on things that don’t loom large in my legend!?!. Hope you’re fine! A

    Like

    • Many thanks Adrian. I prefer to let my images do the talking – but sometimes, when things really upset me, the words come out too! I’m too much of a dreamer, I think – often looking for the ideal rather than the real. Ah, well – we’ll see how it goes. I’m doing okay thanks – and much better after my short break πŸ™‚ Hope you’re good too; I’ll be over to your blog shortly (I know: “Don’t call me Shortly πŸ™‚ ).

      Like

  7. Beautiful image! That sucks what your neighbour is doing – they really should know better since ingesting chemicals is bad, period. I can imagine how angry you are, I would be too. stupid people are everywhere.

    Like

    • Thank you Farmhouse Stories. Yes – it seems that many of the old Victorian bridges are having to make way for large metal replacements. All in the name of progress 😦

      Like

  8. never ever stop being a dreamer.. I suggest you talk to the adjoining plotholder and ask him ( in the nicest possible way ) to be more careful with his spraying and explain why or if you don’t want to do that put a sign up in a very obvious place so that everyone can read it !

    Like

Leave a Reply

