To the Beach

To_the_beach2b-201303

Steps and an almost haphazard-looking set of railings lead down to a deserted stretch of beach near Godrevy Head, North Cornwall.

I’ve desaturated the image as the green grass overpowered the predominant steely-blue and black sea, rocks, and sky-reflected wet sand. I think this helps to tie all the elements together a bit better.

The image feels a bit dream-like to me – like a distant memory of a visit to the sea (one of my favourite places to be).

The title is a faint nod to Virginia Woolf.

15 thoughts on “To the Beach

  1. Your choice to desaturate the grass was a good one, I think. It has that elusive quality of an older, conventionally-made fine print that has been lovingly hand-colored. There is definitely a dreamlike quality about it.

    Like

  2. I like this – and the desaturation of the grass’s green is definitely a good idea – and one which I must store away in a corner of my mind for future use – thanks for the hint!

    Like

Leave a Reply

