A Favour to Ask

As some of you may know, a few of us bloggers are having problems leaving comments on other people’s blogs. It seems that Akismet is wrongly sending our comments to spam. For me, the problem arose early Wednesday morning so any comments I have left since then will be in your spam folders. The favour I need to ask is: could you please have a look in your spam folders for non-spam comments. It might not just be mine you find there – but other bloggers’ comments too.

Thank you very much for everyone who has un-spammed me so far (such a painful-sounding phrase!). I should have no problems commenting on your blogs after being un-spammed.

Sorry to have to ask but I don’t want to stop commenting on your blogs because of this problem. I’m not having problems receiving comments here from anyone (except TBM from ’50 year project’ who is having the same problem). I always check my spam folder regularly in any case as I have found non-spam comments from regular bloggers in there in the past.

Many thanks.

Sorry – forgot to add: I may not have commented on your blog over the last couple of days but may well do in the next. I would be grateful if you could check now and again over the next week. I hope it will be resolved by then though.

11 thoughts on “A Favour to Ask

  1. I always check my spam folder anyway because many times I find in there comments from people I know. I wonder why too…
    Funny thing is that it may be from people from whom I have been receiving normally comments for a long time and all of a sudden they are “judged” as spam. At the same time akisnet has “allowed” some pretty weird REAL spam comments in. Again, I do hope they fix these problems.
    🙂

    Like

    • It’s all very odd, isn’t it. There is a little bit of ‘light at the end of the tunnel’ as I had a promising response from a comment I made on the forums last night. They are going to look into it for us. I’ll wait to see what Monday brings!

      Thanks, as always, Marina 🙂

      Like

    • Hello there! If you go into your dashboard, on the top left is a box with the title: ‘Right Now’. In the box it tells you how many spam comments Akismet has protected you from. If you have spam it will tell you how many on a clickable link. Click the link and it will take you to your spam folder. There you can unspam if necessary – but be careful as some of the real spam is very clever and looks like proper comments!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment on this – it’s very much appreciated 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you very much for providing the instructions. It leads me to wonder how many comments I’ve missed. Hopefully, not many. Again, I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Have a wonderful day.

        Like

  2. I removed your comment from my spam yesterday and I hope that doing my little part will help fix this big problem. Annie

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Annie. Sorry about all this; I’m beginning to sound like a ‘broken record’. Feel a bit more hopeful, however, as the staff have realised the problem is more widespread that first thought and are trying to sort it out.

      Like

    • Thanks for letting me know, Adrian. The situation is far from resolved, however. There are lots of us affected and we are being told various ways to solve it – each one being rather unsatisfactory. It appears that once we miscreants are unspammed then subsequent comments should go through okay – but who knows. I would say to keep checking spam as some of your other commenters may be affected. It’s all a bit of a mess.

      Like

Leave a Reply

