Water Flowers

Water_flowers1-201307

We are in the middle of a heatwave here in the UK which is very welcome after all the grey dreary days this year and previous cool and rainy Summers. It’s wonderful to see blue skies, fluffy white clouds, and to feel warm. The humidity, however, is rising and can be quite uncomfortable at times.

I had today off from work and decided to take a morning walk by a river in order to feel a little cooler. I spotted this umbellifer in dappled shade leaning over the cool blue water. I did the same, and leaned over the cool blue water.

13 thoughts on “Water Flowers

  1. I’m loving this heat after all our wintry summers, and I’ve seen more butterflies in the last 2 weeks than I’ve seen in the last two years! A day off work to wander (meander even) along a river is a great way to appreciate the weather.

    Like

    • Hello Finn. Yes – I agree with you about the butterflies; it’s lovely to see them. I usually struggle when it gets this hot and humid but I’m not complaining (too much 😉 ). We’ve waited a long time for this and it’s just so lovely to open the curtains in the morning to be greeted with wall-to-wall blue skies.

      Like

  2. Oh I like this, M! What gets me about it? Well, the low, pastel colours against that featureless, slate blue-grey, and the way the diagonal composition meanderers 🙂 lazily across the frame – I bet you were using your camera’s meandering attachment again 😉 !

    And is this in some kind of diffused or low structure mode – it looks like that, and this adds to the overall effect considerably. I could very easily live with this in my living room. Maybe this is another departure for you – the image, not the living room …. A

    Like

    • Ha, ha; yes – that meandering attachment is often there 🙂

      With regard to a diffused or low structure mode, I wouldn’t know how to get either of them via camera settings, if truth be told. The light was dappled which seemed to bring out the lovely colours in the leaves. I did use the exposure value, though, and put it onto -3. That makes me sound like I know what I’m doing, doesn’t it?

      Post processing, I adjusted contrast and saturation a tiny bit and cropped out some extraneous detail on the left.

      I’m so pleased you like it, Adrian, and the fact that you could live with it in your living room pleases me very much. I’ll see what I can do 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

