On a Rainy Day …….

rainyday2-201401

……. colour and joy can be found – even in January!

I – seemingly foolishly – decided to visit Sir Harold Hillier Gardens in Hampshire, UK last Thursday – a day which promised rain but also – hopefully – a few brighter intervals.

As it turned out, it did rain quite a bit with short intervals of brightness, but it was still a lovely day in so many ways. The rain sometimes brings out colours on a grey day in ways a sunny day sometimes fails to do because of strong contrast and shadows.  I think the colour is appreciated more on a grey day, also. It provides a real lift to the spirit.

This is a photo taken from the shelter of a piece of sculpture in the gardens: an large upturned wooden boat with seats where one can partake of a spot of lunch whilst looking across the pond at a variety of plants including the bright cornus stems seen here. One can also enjoy the company of a variety of ducks who come to share your lunch. Quite idyllic really.

18 thoughts on “On a Rainy Day …….

  1. I am also very fond of shooting in the rain–with adequate protection, of course. It’s actually warm enough here today for rain, rather than snow, but there’s a clear sky. At least the winds are mercifully much calmer. Over the course of the past few days, we’ve had gusts in excess of 50 mph (83 km/hr). It looks like there was some wind for your day in the garden, but not too fierce. I like the gentle angle of the rain streaks.

    Like

    • Thank you, Gary. Yes, I really should go out in the rain more. Luckily I was under shelter here so my camera was protected from the rain. It’s the first time (I think!!) that I’ve attempted an image such as this. I will certainly try it again.

      Good that the temps are rising a little for you there and that the strong winds have abated.

      Like

  2. It looks as if it was raining pretty darned hard. You’ve captured it really well. I’ve never really tried to, but I should. Need to be in the right place (shelter) with a good subject (like yours) when it is raining hard, and with a camera. Then I need to work out how to do it. Shutter speed is obviously key to this. Might I ask what yours was please M?

    Like

  3. This is an unusual shot. Foremost, I like the falling rain, you’ve caught it well; but there are also those luminous colours shining through – especially the yellows, and the greens of the grass. You wouldn’t get me out on a day like that – at least, not outside the car! 🙂 A

    Like

    • Thank you, Adrian. It wasn’t raining all day – there were dry spells between the heavy showers! I think sometimes one needs to get outside whatever the weather, and it was one of those days for me 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

