Fields of Yellow

fieldsofyellow-201404

It’s that time of year again when our surrounding fields become illuminated by dazzling yellow oilseed rape flowers. I think they may be earlier this year.

This season, there seem to be even more fields filled with this crop; we are surrounded by it.

I’ve been out photographing it over the last couple of days in different weather conditions. When I came across this field on Wednesday I was quite stunned and almost intoxicated by the sight. The bright colour and sickly-sweet smell almost overwhelmed me after walking amidst the gentler, calm-inducing, dun-brown and restful-green colours of Nature.

I returned to the scene today and photographed this field looking across to another in the background.

32 thoughts on “Fields of Yellow

  1. Is this plant the same as canola? Farmers in North Alabama are beginning to plant canola as one of the crops they rotate. The fields are quite beautiful, but seem more a lemon yellow and the leaves a tad bluer. ??? This photo is lovely! I can only imagine being there!

    Like

      • Wow! Yepper, that’s it! I have stopped many times along rural roadways to thrill at the wonder of that sight! That, and winter wheat remain my two favorite crops. One farmer began planting fields of sunflowers, too. THAT was really something. GORGEOUS photos – I looked through a few of yours and … wow!

        Like

        • I love photographing Wheat and Barley as well as this crop. Before I had this camera I had never looked closely at crops before. I found so much beauty – especially with Barley with its red and green colours – turning burnished gold late Summer – and the sound; oh that wonderful sound of swaying and swooshing in the breeze – ‘sussuration’ as one of my commenters said at the time!

          I’ve never seen a field of Sunflowers; how amazing that must be!

          Many thanks for your kind words, Debi.

          Like

          • “Sussuration!” What a great word! I’ve not seen barley fields but found similar beauty in winter wheat. Every spring stormy winds blow across those deep blue green stalks whipping them into undulations like waves. I lived for that sight and that sound, and now I have a word for the sound! Thank you!

            Like

  2. Oh, how I loved to search out these yellow fields when I was assigned to your part of the world in spring, before my retirement! Thank you for renewing the wonder of this sensory saturation!

    Like

    • You’re welcome, Gary! ‘Sensory saturation’ is a great way to describe it! Of course, when the plant begins to rot down later in the year we will be suffocated with the smell of old brassicas!

      Like

    • Thank you, Soli. The sounds are quite wonderful too as birds flutter and bob about, bees buzz amidst and around the flowers, and butterflies gently flap in pairs above and around the crop.

      Like

    • My first sighting of it in flower was the 30th March – really early! Due to the mild Winter, I guess. I’ve also noticed lots and lots of bumble bees. I wonder whether that is due to early flowers too. I don’t think I have ever seen so many! Such a delight!

      Like

  3. I just knew before I looked …
    Fabulous M . The effect is as heady as walking through Poppy fields I know we both love …
    I took some the other day but it was drizzly, today though ….

    Like

    • Yes – it’s that time again, Poppy! I’ve been photographing it in different weather conditions during the week, including fog – which didn’t work too well. It needs bright sunshine or a day with big high clouds to bring out the colour best. Have fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

