On the Woodland Floor

woodland_floor-201411An ivory-coloured fungus growing out of a damp-darkened log, along with leaves in various stages of decay – plus a bit of moss – on a woodland floor.

I’ve recently been spending a bit more time than usual amidst various woodlands. They never used to be my favourite places to meander as I tend to prefer wide open vistas. This year, however, something has changed within, and being amongst trees has offered much comfort and solace.

To jolt me out of my comfort zone and to challenge myself a little, I recently decided to become a conservation volunteer at various local nature reserves. My first opportunity arose yesterday where tasks included: herding sheep (extremely enjoyable and satisfying); coppicing a hazel; making a barrier along a fence; and creating a woven circular barrier around the coppiced hazel. I felt a bit out of my depth with regard to skills with tools, and the steeply sloping site was quite a challenge to my fitness levels and poor co-ordination skills. Overall, however, it was an enjoyable day, and despite being a bit achey and bruised, I’m looking forward to the next session in a couple of weeks’ time.

14 thoughts on “On the Woodland Floor

  1. I foresee lots more photographic opportunities M this kind volunteering sounds like it will suit you very well .
    Lovely rich find in the undergrowth !

    Like

    • Thank you, Poppy. I seem drawn to woodlands at the moment. The reserve I worked on this week is also highly regarded for its chalk downland – which is the area we worked on. It was quite ‘interesting’ negotiating a steep, wet slope with saws and loppers in hand 🙂

      Like

      • Ah Chalk downland .. maybe many lovely butterflies come Spring then 🙂
        I don’t envy you the steep slope plus carrying tools I have to say … last time I was on such a slope I fell over backwards onto my camera bag and had a struggle to ‘right’ myself I must have looked hilarious 😀 .. thankfully no lasting injuries .
        Take care M 😉

        Like

  2. Interesting and successful textual photo. I know what you mean about keeping away from woods and preferring open spaces, but there are certain times when the trees draw me in. I understand about ‘group work’ too. I joined a river management task force some weeks ago and can’t quite face the idea yet of being in such a peaceful environment with lots of talking… 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, it’s interesting the way that woodlands and trees are calling to me right now. I don’t quite understand, but I’m going with it 🙂

      Mmm: I know what you mean regarding the idea of lots of talking amidst nature; seems so incongruous to me. I’m an introvert and enjoy quietness. I also find it difficult to join in with ‘small talk’ – have always been that way. I had no idea how many people would turn up for the session on Monday, but as it turns out it was five of us – which wasn’t too bad. I’m trying to push myself into scenarios which I find difficult whilst trying to be useful at the same time. We’ll see how it goes. Do let me know how you get on with the river management work.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “something has changed within”, that’s interesting, my friend, hope it leads you on good paths. I’m an open spaces person really – well, the Levels are a give away aren’t they!!! But I wish you well, and with the volunteering too. Lovely mix of colours in the photo – “autumn”. And I’m off to the flatlands early tomorrow! A 🙂

    Like

    • Yes – that’s the surprising thing, Adrian; I’ve always been an open spaces person too. It is interesting, and as I’ve said to Rachael, I’m going with it!

      I’m pleased you like the image.

      Like

Leave a Reply

